top of page

Yisrael - Part I

In March of 2011, I wrote the poem 'Yisrael' as I reflected on my first trip to Israel. Next week I will add stanzas to demonstrate the level of depth and complexity that has changed in my relationship with Israel in the last six years.

 

I sit in my room this windy morning, with the radiant, rising sun brightly shining

Creating shadows and patterns on my walls, all encircling my figure

But I don’t feel trapped by this; my memories are slowly beginning their walk.

Yisrael, just saying the name, I feel overwhelmed by joy, happiness, pride, love.

You welcomed me last summer, saying Shalom and a smile playing on your soft lips

How is it that one summer can change one forever? Todah for letting me experience this.

I leave one person. Return as another.

Learning Tall tales and touring the terrific topography of your land; my people’s land

Shwoosh echos the wind, beckoning from the Golan Heights, dancing on top of the hills

The hills I saw; The hills I hiked; The hills I loved; The hills I love.

Your bordering sea ripples and rapples from the gentle wind, teasing the beautiful beach

The sand is swept up by the wind in the desert; The desert that housed my ancestors.

The Negev

The culture is ubiquitous; the thriving culture of my people

Jerusalem, Yerushalayim; the Wall, where the wind forever rests for the people need Him

My people come from all walks of life, all traveling because of one reason:

We miss Home, We have been away far too long, We hear the calling to return

Return home to the Home that is rightfully ours.

Return home to the Home the Wind bestowed upon our ancestors.

Return home because it is everyone’s Home.

bottom of page